Home » Brahmotsavam


Brahmotsavam is the biggest festival, which is celebrated every year in the well-known shrine of Tirupati. Held over a period of nine days, this holy festivity catches the attention of devotees to this ever-crowded and prominent place of worship. Every year, Brahmotsavam attracts millions of Hindu devotees from far and near to become a part of this marvelous festival.

Legend of Tirupati Brahmotsavam

Lord Brahma, the Gods of all Gods created this exquisite world. Nevertheless, repeatedly evil forces have tried to devastate it. Lord Vishnu was the protector and used to solve the troubles of people living on earth. In order to thank Lord Vishnu for shielding humanity, Lord Brahma adored Lord Balaji in Tirupati. After that devotees rejoice the nine day festival as Brahmotsavam that pays reverence to Lord Brahma and Lord Vishnu.

Here we are going to throw light on how each day is commemorated and what is the importance of this nine day grand carnival.

Day 1- Pedda Seshavahana

The first day of Brahmotsavam begins with the hoisting of holy flag that is known as Garuda Dhwaja. The flag hoisting ceremony is accompanied by the splendid procession of Lord Venkateshwara. The idol of Lord Vishnu is carried on a vehicle, which is known as ‘Pedda Seshavahana’.

Day 2- Chinna Seshavahana

The second day of the grand gala begins with the procession of Lord Venkateshwara. The day sneaks out in the adoration of Lord and in the middle of the night deities are taken out for the procession through the temple streets.

Day 3- Simvahana

The third day of Brahmotsavam signifies power and strength. Lord Vishnu is carriedon lion (Simvahana). As per mythological tales, the Lord is the simha of all the creatures. In the midnight, the divine beings are carried on Mutayalpandiri Vahana that is covered exquisitely with pearls and a sign of royalty and purity.

Day 4- Kalpavriksha Vahana

Fourth day of the grand carnival signifies boons and satisfy wishes. The holy beings take a ride on well-decked Kalpavriksha vahana. Kalpavriksha is a tree that fulfills the wishes of worshippers and grants them boons. After Unjal Seva, the divine beings are carried on Sarvabhoopala in the night.

Day 5- Garuda Vahana

The day five of the festival rejoices the pulchritude. Lord Vishnu’s incarnation is adored on this day. After Unjal Seva, Lord is decked with Sahasranaramala and Mahakaanti and carried on Garuda Vahana.

Day 6- Gaja Vahana

The sixth day symbolizes wealth and pay reverence to Lord Hanuman. All the deities of the temple are carried on Hnaumad Vahana. The entire day is devoted to Lord Hanuman and at night, the well-embellished idol of God Hanuman is placed on Gaja Vahana.

Day 7- Suryaprabha Vahana

On seventh day of Brahmotsavam, devotees worship Moon and Sun. Holy beings are carried out for the procession on Suryaprabha Vahana. Lord Vishnu uses Suryaprabha Vahana as he is considered as the centre of universe.

Day 8- Rathotsavam

On this splendid day of Brahmotsavam Lord Vishnu is taken out on a horse for the procession that signifies power and energy. It is said that people who witness the procession gets liberation from the cycle of birth and death. Worshippers chant mantras Govinda, Govinda and pull the chariot with full devotion.

Day 9- Chakrasnana Mahotsavam

Ninth day of Brahmotsavam includes Chakrasnana Mahotsavam and Pallaki Seva. The tika ceremony of deities is performed on this day. The statues of deities are anointed with ingredients like turmeric power and vermillion and the priests of the temple perform grand abhishekam. The prominent festivity ends with Dhwajarohanam that is performed by devotees in the evening.